5 Short Stories You Should Read This Month

brevitymemeMay is #ShortStoryMonth. And why not. Seems a perfect way to follow the #NationalPoetryMonth of April. Also, with the weather what it is in May, short stories are perfect little “snacks” to digest outside during a little pick-me-up from office indoor weather. Below is a list of five of my very favorite scifi-y short stories. (I’ve included free links for all that are online, too, so get comfy under a tree and read these for free! And if you enjoy these stories, buy some of their books too and support writers writing stuff you like.)

  1. Paycheck by Philip K. Dick
  2. Sea Oak by George Saunders
  3. Harrison Bergeron by Kurt Vonnegut
  4. The Minority Report by Philip K. Dick (which is significantly different from the film in interesting ways)
  5. The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

While I’m at it, a few more good short stories, of the non scifi variety:

(PS-Yes, these are all white people and mostly white men. Yes, that is a problem. So if you have a rec that you think I’d be interested in based on this list, please send it to me! If it isn’t by a white guy, I’ll read it first! And if I enjoy it, I’ll share it. Tweet me ASAP @AngeleOutWest. I’m always looking for more good stories to read and love.)

And a few lists of great short stories to check out:

I’ve also got some short stories out there in the world. You can read some of them at my website NamesRedefined.com

Have other recs? I’d love to read them. Leave title, author and links in the comments!

Leave a Reply

